My Inspiration

Happy 70th birthday, Dad! You have always been my creative inspiration. During my childhood, I admired your artistic talents as an illustrator, painter, and graphic designer for the Chicago Tribune. As I followed your career, I felt like your work was more play. I watched you paint projects. I imitated your drawings. I watched you learn to draw in Photoshop 1. I was baffled and inspired by the digital art. Today, I am proud to have you on my side, inspiring and challenging me in the arts!

MO7_9199

Sand Fall in Lower Antelope Canyon

One of my earliest memories was Disney World. I was only four. I wasn’t allowed to touch the family camera on that trip, but I remember asking questions about how it worked. In grade school, I worked in the dark room for the first time and then again in high school. This was not schoolwork, it was play. Then in college, I began to hone in on my own creative niche. My family inspired me to follow my interest in the arts and today, I can’t see myself doing anything else.

DSC_0080

Canyon Land USA

I always found myself tuned into detail and inspired by the grandiose landscapes that I visited on our vacations. In high school, I visited Arizona with the school. I saw colors and skies that inspired me to take pictures. I took so many rolls of film that I filled a box with one-hour prints. I found myself drawn to the barren landscape contrasted by life, and intrigued by the canyons and mountains.

DSC_0110

Grand Canyon National Park at Sunset

DSC_0059

Havasu Falls, Supai Reservation

When I turned 17, I returned to Sedona, Arizona with my parents. We hiked and toured the paths less traveled. We found a place that filled our souls and inspired us to look at Mother Earth as art.

_IMG1394

San Xavier del Bac

_IMG1616

Sunburst

_IMG1642

Cactus Skeleton Macro

I researched the Southwest, made bucket lists and followed through. I am grateful that my Dad and wife were involved in some of these trips. Many people visit a destination to shop, eat and sight see. During these trips, I put the vistas and culture first. These images are a highlight of my collection of the Southwest. Enjoy the views of the Southwest that fill up my soul!

Horseshoe-Sun-Flare-2015-_Light

Horseshoe Bend at sunset

Horseshoe-Sun-Down

Horseshoe Bend at sundown

_IMG1304_Light

Saguaro National Park

MO7_9222-copy

Sunbeam in Lower Antelope

MO7_9126_7_8_9_tonemapped-copy

Looking to the sky in upper Antelope

Fay-Canyon-HDR

Fay Canyon, Sedona

DSC_0153

Havasu Creek, Havasu, AZ

DSC_0103

Havasu Falls, Havasu, AZ

DSC_0099

Enter Lower Antelope

201-203-HDR

Oak Creek Canyon

_IMG1658

Spring Bloom

_IMG1624

Skeleton

_IMG1599

Ouch

_IMG1402

San Xavier del Bac

_IMG1401

San Xavier del Bac

Happy birthday Dad, and cheers!

 

 

Leave a comment